County Youth Awards 2022

2022 End of Season Awards

PLAYERS, parents and officials came together to celebrate the performances of Cheshire Youth Cricket (CYC) at the Annual Awards ceremony held at Northwich CC.

In a break from tradition, the end-of-season dinner was replaced with a series of outdoor exhibition ‘Hundred’ matches, giving our county cricketers the opportunity to showcase their skills out in the middle for the final time in 2022.

More than 200 people attended the new-look CYC Awards, which also featured a series of smaller, more intimate presentation ceremonies for the respective girls and boys county age group teams, while hosts Northwich provided food and refreshments throughout.

Performance and Pathway Manager Gavin Colebourn said: “This year’s format and match structure allowed us to celebrate the players’ success by seeing first-hand the high level of skills on show and it was fantastic to see players and their families from different age groups celebrate together.

“Every boy and girl representing the county should be extremely proud of their achievements. It was very inspiring to hear so many examples of player and team success, and huge congratulations once again to the respective age group winners.”

Gavin added: “The day was also a great opportunity to recognise Northwich CC. The club were excellent hosts as they staged a number of county fixtures during 2022.”

After two seasons of interruption from Covid, CYC celebrated a return to a full fixture programme in 2022 and there were plenty of fantastic individual and collective performances, with a full list of Age Group winners included in the table below.

The CYC Performance of the Year went to Hyde CC’s Liam Grindlay, who recorded back-to-back centuries for the Under 15 and Under 14 Boys within 24 hours.

Lindow’s Charlie Hodge was presented with the ‘Stan Davies Award’ for the Most Improved cricketer. Charlie enjoyed an excellent year with the bat, recording two centuries for the U17 Boys in the three-day competition. The award was presented on the day by Stan’s daughter Nicola Bennett after the former CYC Chairman passed away earlier this year.

Nandu Valliyil was crowned CYC Girls Player of the Year for her performances with the ball for the Girls Under 18s. The Chester Boughton Hall starlet took 14 wickets in representative cricket (10 in the league) at an average of just over 12.

Liam Yahathugoda from Alderley Edge was a deserving winner of the CYC Boys Player of Year. Liam amassed more than 1,000 county runs representing the Boys U13 and Boys U14 squads, while also featuring in one match for the Boys Under 15s against Yorkshire.

The Boys Under 16s took home the Team of the Year trophy in recognition of their outstanding summer, beating first class opposition in Yorkshire, Derbyshire, Durham and Nottinghamshire on route to reaching the National semi-finals.

For a full round up of Cheshire’s County Age Group performances in 2022, visit the CCB Play-Cricket website .

Boys Under 10
Batter - Gabe Adamson
Bowler - Matthew Noble
Fielder - Akinda Abeysinghe
Coach's Award - Patrick Hannon

Girls Under 11
Batter - Flo Sandiford
Bowler - Emily Vandersteen
Fielder - Autumn Greensmith
Coach's Award - Megan Owen

Boys Under 11
Batter - Charlie Rourke
Bowler - Aryan Dash
Fielder - Alfie Hughes
Coach's Award - Oscar Howarth

Boys Under 12
Batter - Jakob Jordan
Bowler - Toby Arrowsmith
Fielder - Max Hassell
Coach's Award - Joe Harrison

Girls Under 13
Batter - Skye Thomas
Bowler - Katie Farmer
Fielder - Charlie Barratt
Coach's Award - Peyton Hulme

Boys Under 13
Batter - Liam Yahathugoda
Bowler - Alex Darlington
Fielder - Joseph Moores
Coach's Award - Alfie Usher

Boys Under 14
Batter - Liam Grindlay
Bowler - Yusuf Khan
Fielder - Christian Smith
Coach's Award - Liam Clorley

Girls Under 15
Batter - Emily Murray
Bowler - Holly Batey
Fielder - Freya Jones
Coach's Award - Eleanor Brennan

Boys Under 15
Batter - Ben Cunliffe
Bowler - Joshua Leach
Fielder - Aditiya Srivastava
Coach's Award - Finley Nash

Boys Under 16s
Batter - Joe Chapple
 Bowler -Rhys Collister
Fielder - Teix Bolingbroke
Coach's Award - Sudanshu Rajshetty

Girls Under 18s
Batter - Georgia Heath
 Bowler -Nandu Valliyil
Fielder - Tilly Kesteven
Coach's Award - Maddie Lawson

Boys Under 18s
Batter - Charlie Hodge
 Bowler -Sebastian Botes
Fielder - James Dodds
Coach's Award - William Clayton

Have a Question for Us?

Scroll to Top